Baltimore Blast Win Third Straight MASL Title

The Baltimore Blast completed their quest for their third straight MASL championship last night in Mexico as they defeated the Monterrey Flash 4-3.   In each of the championship games The Blast have had to travel to Mexico. The first two games were played in Sonora, and this game was played in front of 8,220 fans in Monterrey.

The Blast started the game strong. Vini Danatas scored the only goal of the first quater to give the Blast a 1-0 lead going into the second quarter. The Blasted added two late goals from Andrew Hoxie and Daniel Peruzzi to end the first half.

Edgar Gonzalez of the Flash scored the only goal of the third quarter to make it 3-1.

Juan Pereira scored the eventual winning goal for the Blast early in the fourth quarter to make it 4-1. Efrain Martinez scored for the Flash with 7:18 left in the fourth and Lourenco Andrade scored with 3:39 left in the fourth quarter to make it 4-3.

The Blast defense and championship MVP, goalkeeper William Vanzela, kept the Flash off the board for the final moments of the game.

This is the tenth championship the Blast have won across a number of different leagues. The Blast continue to be one of the most dominant franchises in indoor soccer. They have played in eight straight championship games, and have not missed the playoffs since the 2006-2007 season.

Please follow and like us:

Andrew Geckle

Graduate of the University of South Carolina, the REAL USC. Currently an account manager with the Aberdeen IronBirds. I cover the Orioles and minor league affiliates. Twitter- @ageckle35

You may also like...

Follow by Email