Ravens Legend Ed Reed named Hall of Fame Finalist

The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2019 class has reached its final step.

Fifteen finalists were announced on Thursday January third. Tight end Tony Gonzalez, safety Ed Reed and cornerback Champ Bailey all were named finalists in their first year of eligibility, and will most likely be a trio to headline this Hall of Fame class. All three players combined for 35 Pro Bowls and 14 first-team All-Pro nods during their careers. The 2019 Hall of Fame class will be revealed February second in Atlanta in advance of Super Bowl LIII.

Ed Reed is one of just two players to lead the NFL in interceptions three times (2004, 2008, 2010) and was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2004. Reed helped lead the Ravens to a Super Bowl championship in his final season in purple and black and played in all but 16 regular-season games in his 11-year career with the Ravens.

Ed Reed, if selected, would be joining Jonathan Odgen and Ray Lewis in the Hall. Odgen and Lewis also went in on their first attempts.

Former Denver Broncos/New York Jets Safety Steve Atwater (1989-1998/99), Washington Redskins/Denver Broncos Corner Champ Bailey (1999-2003/ 2004-13), Jacksonville Jaguars tackle Tony Boselli (1995-2001), LA/St. Louis Rams/SF 49ers wide receiver Isaac Bruce (1994-2007/2008-2009), St. Louis Cardinals/San Diego Chargers coach (1973-1977/1978-1986) Don Coryell,
Pittsburgh Steelers/New York Jets/Arizona Cardinals guard (1998-2007/2008-2009/2010 Alan Faneca, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders/Seattle Seahawks coach (1979-1987/1992-94) Tom Flores, Kansas City Chiefs/Atlanta Falcons tight end (1997-2008/2009-2013) Tony Gonzalez, Seattle Seahawks/
Minnesota Vikings/Tennessee Titans guard (2001-2005/2006-2011/2012) Steve Hutchinson, Indianapolis/Arizona Cardinals,Seattle Seahawks running back ( 1999-2005/2006-2008/2009) Edgerrin James, New England/New York Jets/Kansas City Chiefs, Denver Broncos corner (1995-2004/2005/2006-2007/2008/2009) Ty Law, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Denver Broncos safety ( 1993-2003/2004-2007) John Lynch, Seattle Seahawks/New York Jets/Tennessee Titans center (1994-1997/1998-2005/2006-09) Kevin Mawae, New England Patriots/Oakland Raiders defensive end/defensive tackle (2001-2008/2009-2012) Richard Seymour, all join Baltimore Ravens, Houston Texans and New York Jets (2002-2012/2013) legend safety Ed Reed, as the 15 finalists for the 2019 football Hall of Fame.

Here is the press release from BaltimoreRavens.com:

Former Ravens safety Ed Reed is one step closer to Canton.

Reed is among 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019, which was announced Thursday.

Reed is expected to become the third Hall of Famer in franchise history, joining Jonathan Odgen and Ray Lewis. Odgen and Lewis also both went in on their first attempts.

To be elected to the Hall of Fame, a candidate must receive 80 percent of the vote from the selection committee on Feb. 2, the night that this year’s class will be announced.

General Manager Ozzie Newsome drafted Reed with the 24th pick in 2002, and he immediately became a game-changing player. A nine-time Pro Bowler and a five-time selection as first-team All-Pro, Reed ranks seventh all-time in league history with 64 interceptions.

He was the league’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2004 when he had a career-high nine interceptions, a total he equaled in 2008. Reed has the most interception return yards in league history (1,590) and he returned seven interceptions for touchdowns during his career, including an NFL record 107-yard interception return in 2008, and a 106-yard return in 2004.

Reed played 11 seasons with the Ravens (2002-12), winning a Super Bowl in his final season with Baltimore. He ended his career after the 2013 season, following stints with the Houston Texans and New York Jets.

The other 14 finalists are:

  • TE Tony Gonzalez
  • WR Isaac Bruce
  • RB Edgerrin James
  • S Steve Atwater
  • CB Champ Bailey
  • CB Ty Law
  • S John Lynch
  • OT Tony Boselli
  • G Steve Hutchinson
  • G Alan Faneca
  • C/G Kevin Mawae
  • DL Richard Seymour
  • Coache Don Coryell
  • Coach Tom Flores

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email