Pro Lax News: Premier Lacrosse League announces team rosters

On Monday, a number of professional lacrosse players revealed on their twitter accounts which teams they will be playing for in the newly formed pro men’s lacrosse league, the Premier Lacrosse League (PLL).

Towards the end of 2018, well known lacrosse player Paul Rabil and his brother Michael, who is the CEO of the league, launched the PLL with the backing of some supporters, including NBC Sports which will be airing the games which begin June 1 of this year at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough Mass., where the Super Bowl champion New England Patriots play.

From the PLL website, NBC Sports president, programming, shared his excitement on televising pro lacrosse and growing the game.

“We are excited to partner with the world’s greatest lacrosse player, Paul Rabil, and his brother Michael on this innovative and revolutionary new league,” said Miller.

“As the exclusive home of the PLL, we’ll super-serve fans across the country by utilizing all of our unprecedented assets to drive awareness to this exciting new league. NBC Sports has a long and successful history of growing emerging sports into powerhouses, and we’re excited by this new opportunity.”

The other league investors are  J Tsai Sports, Brett Jefferson, and return investor, The Raine Group.  The capital from the growth round will be used to fund future league operations, team and player-focused original programming, and executive team expansion. League offices are located in Los Angeles, with additional offices in New York City.

Last week, the PLL unveiled the six teams and their coaching staffs on social media to the masses (See Below). The team names are the Redwoods, the Chrome, the Whipsnakes, the Atlas, the Chaos, and the Archers, that play 1 game per weekend, with all 120 players coming into market for each weekend.

The PLL has also announced two more venues for the summer tour, New York at the Red Bull Arena on June 8th-9th, September 14. And the SeatGeek Stadium in Chicago, Ill. June 15th-16th.

There will not be any specific cities where the six teams will play. It will more of a tour-like feel, going to 12 different venues throughout the summer. The PLL season will include 10 regular-season weekends, one all-star weekend and two playoff weekends, concluding with the championship weekend on September 21st.

“The PLL is providing players an opportunity to pursue lacrosse in a full-time capacity like never before, and we’re excited to join that movement.” from lacrosse equipment giant, STX, which is also partnering with the league.”

Maryland Terrapins alums, star attackman Matt Rambo, midfielder Pat Young and goalie Kyle Bernlohr were selected by the Whipsnakes. Rabil, who helped the USA world team win gold medals, won NCAA Championships for Johns Hopkins as well as being named All-American several times, was named to team Atlas. Boys’ Latin and also Johns Hopkins alum Shack Stanwick was selected to team Atlas. Calvert Hall alum and face-off wizard Stephen “Bones” Kelly was selected by the Archers.

Please follow and like us:

Tom Peace

I am the Director of Lacrosse coverage for MSB. I am currently a national and local lacrosse writer and analyst. I have a strong broadcasting and journalism background that spans over 15 years if covering the Baltimore Orioles and Ravens. The Maryland Terrapins Football and Basketball programs. I've also stepped out of my comfort zone and even covered pro wrestling on a national level as a content writer for Impact Wrestling. I'm excited to provide lacrosse coverage for Maryland Sports Blog.

You may also like...

Follow by Email