Nationals punch ticket to World Series for first time in 86 years following 7-4 sweep of Cardinals

Yes, that’s correct. No, it’s not a dream. The Washington Nationals are indeed headed to the World Series after sweeping the St. Louis Cardinals in a 7-4 win! After over a decade of disappointment and too many close calls, the Nationals are proud to call themselves this year’s National League Champions! Despite close calls for Patrick Corbin and Daniel Hudson, the starter and the closer (and Tanner Rainey and Sean Doolittle in between) got the job done to seal the deal and bring the World Series to the District of Columbia. Corbin threw five innings that ended with four hits, four wins, three walks, and twelve strikeouts. Rainey, Doolittle, and Hudson threw an inning each in relief and, for the most part, kept the Cardinals offense quiet for the remainder of the night.

At the end of it all, the Nationals received a National League Championship trophy, and Howie Kendrick was named the series MVP. Amazingly, all the Nationals’ runs occurred in the first inning. These runs are as follows:

  1. Anthony Rendon sacrifice fly scores Trea Turner.
  2. Juan Soto doubles to score Adam Eaton.
  3. Victor Robles singles to score Soto.
  4. Yan Gomes singles to score Howie Kendrick and Ryan Zimmerman.
  5. Turner singles to score Robles and Gomes.

With the World Series on the horizon for next Tuesday, the Nationals eagerly await the winner of the ALCS, which could be either the New York Yankees or the Houston Astros. Continue to follow Maryland Sports Blog as well as the Nationals’ social media platforms for further updates in this exciting historic milestone.

Please follow and like us:

You may also like...

Follow by Email