The Hershey Bears name Spencer Carbery as 26th Franchise Head Coach.

Today it was announced by Bryan Helmer, along with Washington Capitals general manager that the Hershey Bears franchise has its twenty sixth head coach in history. Spencer Carbery will join the Hershey Bears this season becoming the second youngest head coach in AHL history at thirty six years old.

Release from the Hershey Bears:
“Today is an exciting day for the Hershey Bears organization as we welcome Spencer Carbery as our new head coach,” said Helmer. “Throughout this process, Spencer’s passion, character and work ethic stood out–and his desire to win is without equal. His familiarity with the Hershey and Washington organizations will help make this a smooth transition, and we feel he is the perfect fit to lead this storied franchise to even greater success,” continued Helmer. 

Carbery was the head coach and director of operations for Hershey’s ECHL affiliate the South Carolina Stingrays starting in 2011 and ending in 2016. He is also the head coach with the most wins for the franchise with a 207-115-38 record over five years with the team. Throughout his five years as head coach for the Stingrays he improved in points each year, taking the Stingrays to the playoffs all five years. Carbery also led South Carolina to back to back Eastern Conference final titles in 2015 and 2016. The 2015 South Carolina Stingrays also advanced to the Kelly Cup, to lose in game seven against the Allen Americans.

Carbery’s ties to the Hershey/Washington organization don’t stop there as he has also coached numerous players for both teams. Philip Grubauer, Pheonix Copley, Nathan Walker, Tyler Lewington, Garrett Mitchell, Wayne Simpson, Dylan Margonari and Kelly Zajac were all coached under Carbery.

There will be a press conference to announce the addition of Carbery to the team and will be shown via The Hershey Bears Facebook page on Facebook live at noon on Wednesday June 27, 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *