Webb Simpson runs away with The Players Championship

Webb Simpson shot a final round 73 to run away with The Players Championship. Simpson finished the tournament at 18-under-par, four shots ahead of the three players tied for second. Simpson led wire to wire, while also tying the course record in the second round with a 63.

Charl Schwartzel, Jimmy Walker and Xander Schauffele all shot 14-under-par for the tournament. Tiger Woods was in the hunt throughout the round, but faltered towards the end of the round shooting 11-under-par, 69 to finish tied for 11th.

The story of the fourth round was definitely Brooks Koepka. Koepka shot a final round 63 to tie the course record that Simpson also shot in round two. When Koepka made his way to the par five 16th, the fans were in for a surprise. Koepka holed the second shot from 208 yards to make the rare albatross.

Wes Hoffmaster

Big time hockey guy. Live tweet specialist. Give me a follow on twitter @weshoff7

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email