Ravens nominate DE Calais Campbell for 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

In just his first season with the Baltimore Ravens, veteran defensive end Calais Campbell has already established himself as one of the prominent leaders on the field and in the locker room.

The four-time Pro Bowler has made such an indwelling impression on his teammates and coaches in such a short time despite not having any semblance of an actual offseason program that on Thursday, the team announced that he is their 2020 nominee for the seventh annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Every team in the league nominates a player on their team for the award that recognizes players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the gridiron.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founder and owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

Eight finalists will be selected from the 32 nominees by a panel consisting of former players from the NFL Legends Community—Warrick Dunn, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg, and Leonard Wheeler.

There will be four nominees from each conference and all eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when their fellow players vote on Friday, Dec. 18.

The award is presented each year at the annual NFL Honors ceremony to a player who best displays the epitome of on-field sportsmanship which includes fair play, the utmost respect for the game and opponents as well as integrity in competition.

Campbell brought home an even more prestigious award last year when he was named the 2019 Walter Payton Man of the Year in his final season with the Jacksonville Jaguars.

It doesn’t take long for the gentle giant who is a fierce competitor and powerful force on the field to ingratiate himself with his new teammates and community. He’s well respected around the league by his peers and opposing coached alike so his chances of being selected for the honor are high.

A pair of former Ravens were also nominated for the award by their current teams. San Francisco 49ers All-Pro fullback Kyle Juszczyk was selected in the fourth round out of Harvard in 2013 and Cincinnati Bengals inside linebacker Josh Bynes signed with Baltimore as an undrafted free agent out of Auburn in 2011.

Juszczyk spent his first four years and earned his first career Pro Bowl with the Ravens and Bynes is fondly remembered as the player that made the last tackle in Superbowl 47 to secure the franchise’s second championship in team history.

Please follow and like us:

You may also like...

Follow by Email