Navy’s Jarvis Polu Named to 2018 Watch List


Jarvis Polu, Navy Football, DE

Jarvis Polu, Navy Football, DE (photo attribution:

Jarvis Polu, senior DE for the Navy Midshipmen, has been named to the 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Watch List.

The award is given annually to the Polynesian college player who best exemplifies great ability and integrity. Nominations are based on both past performance and future potential.

Former winners include: Ronnie Stanley (OL, Baltimore Ravens), Marcus Mariota (QB, Tennessee Titans), and Hercules Mata’afa (DE, Minnesota Vikings).

The award is presented by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame. Navy head coach Ken Niumatalolo is a member of the Hall of Fame’s inaugural class (2013).

Jarvis Polu enters 2018 with 27 consecutive starts for Navy. The DE has appeared in all 40 games since joining the Midshipmen in 2015.

Polu is one of 50 players from 34 FBS schools nominated for the honor. Below is the complete 2018 Watch List.

2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Watch List

    • Bradlee Anae, DL, Junior, Utah
    • AJ Epenesa, DL, Sophomore, Iowa
    • Lo Falemaka, OL, Senior, Utah
    • Brandon Fanaika, OL, Senior, Stanford
    • Austin Faoliu, DL, Sophomore, Oregon
    • Koa Farmer, LB, Senior, Penn State
    • Breiden Fehoko, DE, Junior, LSU
    • Leki Fotu, DL, Junior, Utah
    • Alohi Gilman, DB, Junior, Notre Dame
    • Jordan Iosefa, LB, Junior, USC
    • Corbin Kaufusi, DL, Senior, BYU
    • Ronley Lakalaka, LB, Senior, San Diego State
    • Moroni Laulu-Pututau, TE, Senior, BYU
    • Gus Lavaka, OL, Junior, Oregon State
    • Jimmy Leatiota, OL, Junior, Eastern Michigan
    • Ray Lima, DL, Junior, Iowa State
    • Toa Lobendahn, OL, Senior, USC
    • Sonatane Lui, DL, Junior, Boise State
    • Tyson Maeva, LB, Junior, Boise State
    • Vavae Malepeai, RB, Sophomore, USC
    • Solomon Matautia, LB, Junior, Hawaii
    • Frederick Mauigoa, OL, Junior, Washington State
    • David Moa, DT, Junior, Boise State
    • Bryan Mone, DL, Senior, Michigan
    • Brendan Moore, OL, Senior, Maryland
    • Sosaia Mose, C, Junior, North Texas
    • Netane Muti, OL, Sophomore, Fresno State
    • Kekoa Nawahine, DB, Junior, Boise State
    • Kanawai Noa, WR, Junior, California
    • Butch Pau’u, LB, Senior, BYU
    • Brandon Pili, DL, Sophomore, USC
    • Jarvis Polu, DL, Senior, Navy
    • Justin Polu, OL, Junior, UNLV
    • Benning Potoa’e, DL, Junior, Washington
    • Olive Sagapolu, DL, Senior, Wisconsin
    • Dru Samia, OL, Senior, Oklahoma
    • Gabriel Sewell, LB, Junior, Nevada
    • Jordan Ta’amu, QB, Senior, Ole Miss
    • Boss Tagaloa, OL, Junior, UCLA
    • Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Sophomore, Alabama
    • Sione Takitaki, LB, Senior, BYU
    • Suli Tamaivena, LB, Senior, Utah State
    • Josiah Tauaefa, LB, Junior, UTSA
    • Jahlani Tavai, LB, Senior, Hawaii
    • Jay-Tee Tiuli, DL, Senior, Eastern Washington
    • Noah Togiai, TE, Junior, Oregon State
    • Christopher Unga, LB, Junior, Utah State
    • John Ursua, WR, Junior, Hawaii
    • Patrick Vahe, OL, Senior, Texas
    • Kalani Vakameilalo, DL, Senior, Oregon State


Five finalists will be announced December 5. The winner will be named December 14.

Presentation of the honor will be made at the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Celebration Dinner. The Sheraton Waikiki in Honolulu, HI hosts this year’s celebration.

Chloe Stowe

Full-time novelist and blogger, Chloe Stowe loves to spin a tale almost as much as she loves her Nats and Navy sports (on Twitter, she's the #NavyMaven and #curlyWchick). This season will be her first as the Director of Nationals Coverage for the Maryland Sports Blog.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email